Shadows of Mirkwood

This is the very first cycle of the game. You have to own a Core Set to play the first 3 quests, and the Core Set+Adventure Packs to play the other 6 expansions. The cycle has 4 encounter sets that are used in multiple scenarios: Spiders of Mirkwood, Dol Guldur Orcs, Sauron’s Reach, and Wilderlands.

Summary of narrative

Downloadable PDF of this cycle

Global information

Keywords introduced

  • Surge
  • Doomed X
  • Victory X
  • Guarded


  • Escape Test

Player card synergy

  • Eagles
  • Spirit Rohan
  • Song cards
  • Hobbit